The Structure of  University of Sulaimani
University of Sulaimani (UoS) was first established in 1968; the main campus is located in the city of Sulaimani in Kurdistan of Iraq. In the beginning, there were only three colleges but during the years that followed, the number of the colleges increased dramatically as the result of growing demands for higher education in the country.
In 1981, the former Iraqi regime transferred this academic establishment to the city of Erbil (Hawler), and the name was changed to become (University of Salahaddin). In 1992, University of Sulaimani was reestablished by tremendous efforts and enthusiasm of many Kurdish intellectuals and academics with the people of Sulaimani and was officially reopened on 14th of November.
Today the University of Sulaimani includes (8) Faculties and (2) Colleges, students obtain BSc and BA degrees in various fields of study.

To provide the necessary teaching staff, the University also awards MA, MSc and Ph.D. degrees in different fields of study. In 2013-2014 academic year, 10925 students attended classes as full-time students, there are (9101) postgraduate students from (1998-2014), there are (1544) teaching staff and (3494) administration staff too.
The Faculties:
1- Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Nursing
2- Faculty of Engineering 
3- Faculty of Science and Science Education
  • School of Science
  • School of Science Education
4- Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
5- Faculty of Law and Politics
6- Faculty of Physical and Basic Education
  • School of Basic Education
  • School of Physical Education
7- Faculty of Administration
8- Faculty of Language and Humanities
  • School of Fine Arts 
  • School of Humanities 
  • School of Islamic Sciences 
  • School of Language

University of Sulaimania - New Campus

The Colleges:
1- College of Veterinary Medicine
2- College of Commerce